Home > ubuntu > Remove pppoe settings

Remove pppoe settings

Problem

In my apartment we had pppoe connection that I could configure with “sudo pppoeconf“. However, when I moved to a new place where a direct connection was provided without pppoe, my network settings didn’t work. My laptop still wanted to connect through pppoe… I tried to execute pppoeconf again, but it said “no pppoe is available”. Great!

Solution

Remove pppoe settings manually. First, edit /etc/network/interfaces and comment out the pppoe part:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# auto dsl-provider
# iface dsl-provider inet ppp
# pre-up /sbin/ifconfig eth0 up # line maintained by pppoeconf
# provider dsl-provider

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet manual

Then change the last line from manual to dhcp:

iface eth0 inet dhcp

Remove the file /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider. Finally, restart networking: “sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart“.

Credits
This tip was taken over from here.

  1. January 16, 2014 at 18:03

    Tkanks a lot.

    I was about to reinstall ubuntu after facing the same issue.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment