Home > firefox > How to speed up Firefox

How to speed up Firefox

I love Firefox but I suffered a lot recently because of its slowness. It ate up my CPU and thus it became very slow. I even started to use Chrome parallely with some sites where Firefox was very slow. Strangely, Chrome was much faster on certain sites. How to speed up my Firefox?

It turned out that it became slow because of one (or more) add-on(s). The best way to speed up your Firefox is to disable ALL your add-ons. Now I’m enabling just some add-ons that I really need, but I do it one by one, and monitor Firefox if it’s still fast or not.

With my add-ons disabled Firefox has become very fast, like Chrome. I should have done it much earlier…

Steps to follow: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefox-uses-too-many-cpu-resources-how-fix .

Categories: firefox
  1. October 4, 2016 at 18:10

    Dropped Firefox on OSX cause now default search is yahoo instead of duckduckgo. I have to keep on resetting this every time I open a new session. Which for me happens alot. I haven’t had time to find a solution to my problem. Safari and Opera are working fine for me right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

