Home > php, windows > installing EasyPHP

installing EasyPHP

I wanted to contribute to a PHP project but under Manjaro I couldn’t test it locally. I got a “Fatal error: Call to undefined function curl_init()” message that I didn’t manage to resolve, though the line “extension=curl.so” was present in my php.ini :(

After a few hours of trial and error, I decided to develop this project under Windows. I have Windows in VirtualBox, I put the PHP project in a shared folder, so my idea was to edit the source under Linux and visualize the result under Windows.

I chose EasyPHP and installed the latest EasyPHP Devserver that provides a complete development environment.

When I opened the project I got the same error since curl was not enabled by default. On the dashboard I could edit the php.ini file and uncommented the line “extension=php_curl.dll“. However, after restarting the webserver I got another error: libssh2 is missing. I found the solution here (ken’s comment):

"I had to also also copy libssh2.dll into my Apache24 folder 
for this to work with my PHP 5.6.2 installation. So altogether 
I had to do the following:

Move to Windows\system32 folder:
libssh2.dll, php_curl.dll, ssleay32.dll, libeay32.dll

Move to Apache24\bin folder

Uncomment extension=php_curl.dll"

I found all these files in the install folder of EasyPHP. There are two versions of each, one in a “…vc11…” folder, while the other one in a “…vc14…” folder. I worked under PHP 5.6 so I copied the vc11 versions of each file mentioned above.

After this Apache restarted without any error.

Categories: php, windows Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

