Home > mongodb, ubuntu > Upgrade from Ubuntu 14.04 to 16.04

Upgrade from Ubuntu 14.04 to 16.04

On my laptop I upgraded my Ubuntu to 16.04 but after the restart I didn’t get the graphical interface. The booting stopped and I found myself in a maintenance shell. I also got messages about some hard disk errors.

Well, I also have Windows 8.1 on this laptop and the Windows didn’t do a complete shutdown. Windows 8 does some tricky shutdown to boost the booting process, so it does some kind of half-hibernation. When I used Ubuntu 14.04, I got a message that one partition couldn’t be mounted, “press S to skip”. And I upgraded to 16.04 like this. And this unmountable partition caused this trouble.

So the solution was the following: start Windows 8.1, disable that shitty “fast startup” (see this post for more info), and restart Ubuntu. This time Ubuntu 16.04 booted normally.

Update (20160526)
I upgraded two more machines, there were no real problems. Libreoffice didn’t want to start on one of them, it dropped a “General I/O” error. Here is the cure:

$ sudo apt-get remove --purge libreoffice*
$ sudo apt install libreoffice

It’s a good idea to use “apt” instead of “apt-get”. It does the same thing but in addition you get a nice progress bar.

MongoDB stopped too. Here is how to start it with systemctl:

$ sudo systemctl enable mongodb
$ sudo systemctl start mongodb
# verification:
$ systemctl status mongodb
$ mongo
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

