Home > games, manjaro > [manjaro] xbox 360 controller

[manjaro] xbox 360 controller

For Xmas I bought an Xbox 360 (wired) controller for me. It’s really good :) It works well under Windows but how to use it under Manjaro?

When I started Manjaro, the led on the central button (“ring of light”) was blinking and the controller didn’t work. I tried it with some games on Steam but nothing happened. Then I noticed that if I unplug and reconnect the controller, then it starts working :) Actually, the cord has an inline release and it’s simpler to disconnect and reconnect this inline release. After this the led stopped blinking and its second quadrant started to glow.

Now the controller worked with the games but I could also move the mouse pointer with the controller. It was disturbing in the games so I had to create the following file:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-joystick.conf :

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "joystick catchall"
        MatchIsJoystick "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "joystick"
        Option "StartKeysEnabled" "False"       #Disable mouse
        Option "StartMouseEnabled" "False"      #support

Restart the machine and you are done. Some tutorials suggest the “xboxdrv” package but I didn’t need that. The kernel in Manjaro includes the “xpad” kernel module and it worked well for me.

There was another problem: while I was playing, after some time the screensaver kicked in. The “caffeine-ng” package solved this issue (see also this post).


Categories: games, manjaro Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

