Home > games > playing Heroes 3 under Linux

playing Heroes 3 under Linux

I don’t play much but a few days ago I decided to play with Heroes 3 again. GOG.com offers the complete package for less than $10. There is a new HD version but the critics are not very good. Everyone says that the original is much better.

I tried it with Wine and I could install it without any problems. The game worked well for 10 minutes, but then I couldn’t click on some buttons, there was a problem with the mouse handling, so the game became unplayable.

I have dual-boot on my machine but I didn’t want to restart it each time I wanted to play this game. But I also had a Windows 7 in VirtualBox. I use that for work, so I didn’t want to pollute it with games. So I made a linked clone about this virtual machine. It means that the linked clone requires the original image and it only registers the differences. Thus, a linked clone doesn’t require much space. In this linked clone I installed Heroes 3 and it was playable. However, there were some problems with the resolution. The game has a fixed resolution of 800 x 600, so it started in a small area. I wanted to stretch it to fullscreen, so switched on the “Scale Mode” under the “View” menu point of VirtualBox. It was fine on one of my machines, but on another one it bacame terribly pixelated. Upgrading VirtualBox from version 5.0.0 to 5.0.8 solved this issue.

Summary: I can play Heroes 3 again under Linux using VirtualBox. The resolution of Windows is set to 800 x 600 and “Scaled Mode” is activated in VirtualBox.


Categories: games Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

