Home > linux > Midnight Commander: remember directories on the left and right sides when you quit

Midnight Commander: remember directories on the left and right sides when you quit

Problem
When you suffer enough, you will want to change. Nobody likes suffering. I’m a huge fan of MC but one thing troubled me for months: when I quit MC and restart it, it doesn’t remember the last directories in the left and right panels.

As it was driving me crazy, finally I decided to look after the problem. As usual, the solution was just 1 minute away.

Solution
A quick Google search dropped out this thread. That is:

Menu->Options->Panel options...
[x] Auto save panels setup
Categories: linux Tags: , , ,
  1. April 29, 2017 at 13:36

    Unfortunately, this saves only nonactive panel. The one I was using is reset to home as usual..

    • April 29, 2017 at 15:12

      If you think it’s a bug, please send a report to the developers.

  2. May 4, 2017 at 19:27

    I don’t know if it’s a bug yet. Does it remember the last directory on both panels for you? If so, then yes, it might be some bug. On the other hand, why mc behaves the same way on my virtual server?

  3. May 4, 2017 at 19:39

    It remembers both sides for me. Check the version with “mc -V”. Mine is 4.8.19. (under Manjaro). Your VPS may have the same version.

    • May 14, 2017 at 18:19

      On host, Manjaro I have the same version as you, but on Vagrant it’s 4.8.15. However, both versions remember only the non-active side of panels. I guess something might be off in my system then :(

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

