Home > network, python > copy large files between computers at home over the network

copy large files between computers at home over the network

Problem
I have a desktop machine at home with a Windows 2007 virtual machine. I mainly have it because of Powerpoint. Recently I prefer to work on my laptop in the living room. Today I needed Powerpoint, so I decided to copy the whole Windows virtual machine and put it on my laptop. The only problem is that it was 67 GB and I didn’t have that much space on my external HDDs :(

Solution
Don’t panic. On my desktop machine I entered the folder that I wanted to copy and started a web server:

python -m SimpleHTTPServer

With “ifconfig” I checked the local IP address of the machine, it was 192.168.0.53.

On my laptop I opened a browser and navigated to “http://192.168.0.53:8000“. All the files I needed were there. Since I’m lazy and I didn’t want to click on each link one by one, I issued the following command (tip from here):

wget -r --no-parent http://192.168.0.53:8000

The download speed was about 10 MB/sec, so it took almost 2 hours.

Categories: network, python Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

