Home > bash, manjaro, ubuntu > shopt: change additional shell optional behavior

shopt: change additional shell optional behavior

There is a command called shopt that allows you to change additional shell optional behavior.

I use both Ubuntu and Manjaro and I noticed that sometimes bash behaved differently on Manjaro. For instance, I had a folder called “Test_me”. Once accidentally I wrote “cd test_me” and Manjaro entered the folder “Test_me” (notice the capital ‘T’) without any problem. Under Ubuntu it was impossible :)

As it turned out, the different behaviour is due to different shopt settings. In the example above, “cdspell” was on in Manjaro, while in Ubuntu it was off by default.

Since I use both systems and I want bash to behave similarly, I added these lines to the end of my ~/.bashrc:

# shopt settings (normalize Ubuntu and Manjaro)
shopt -s cdspell
shopt -s dotglob
shopt -s hostcomplete
shopt -s nocaseglob
shopt -u sourcepath

I switched “sourcepath” off. Read this post if you want to know why.

Categories: bash, manjaro, ubuntu Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 23, 2014 at 08:33

Leave a Reply

