Home > ubuntu > detect easily if your machine is frozen

detect easily if your machine is frozen

Very rarely my system gets frozen. But is it just my keyboard and mouse that have problems? Or is my whole machine frozen? Or is it just temporary and everything will be normal in a few seconds?

I have an easy solution to detect if the whole system is frozen. In the top right corner you have a clock, right? Well, add seconds too :) If the seconds are stuck, there is a problem. If they are moving, there is still hope.


Update (20141014)
Yesterday my machine got frozen quite interestingly. I got an email with a youtube link that I wanted to play in Gmail. The machine got frozen, i.e. the mouse/keyboard had no effect and the clock didn’t move BUT the audio of the video was rolling :) I could do nothing but listen to it. At the end I had to restart the machine manually. Lesson learned: even if the clock is stuck, it doesn’t mean that your machine is completely frozen. (I guess this all happened because of Flash).

Categories: ubuntu Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

