Home > ubuntu, windows > Linux host, Windows guest, shared Dropbox folder

Linux host, Windows guest, shared Dropbox folder

My primary operating system is Linux but since I need to work with Powerpoint too, I installed Windows 7 in VirtualBox. Under Windows I prepare my presentations but I want them synchronized on all my machines. For the synchronization I was using Dropbox.

I had Dropbox on Linux (host machine) and on Windows (guest machine) too. When I edited a file under Windows, Dropbox synced it to the Linux host too (the Windows client uploads it to the cloud; the Linux client downloads it from the cloud). It worked fine, though it was not not optimal. If I didn’t use the Windows guest for a long time, then after a boot I had to wait some time till Dropbox synced everything and I could start working only after that.

However, something happened to the Windows Dropbox client recently. Maybe it’s a bug, I don’t know, but the Dropbox client in my Windows guest became terribly slow. It keeps syncing but it doesn’t upload the changes, or I need to wait an hour or so to upload a file 1 MB of size. This is ridiculous and unacceptable. Note that I dind’t experience similar issues with the Linux client.

How to have a synchronized folder between a Linux host and a Windows guest without a Dropbox client on the guest?

First I made sure that my Dropbox folders were synced between the host and the guest. After this I uninstalled Dropbox on Windows and removed the C:\Dropbox folder entirely. Since it was synced with the Linux host, I had an exact copy of the Dropbox folder on Linux. Then shut down the Windows guest.

Here (http://www.maketecheasier.com/share-files-in-virtualbox-between-vista-guest-ubuntu-host) you can find an excellent post on how to set up a shared folder between a Linux host and a Windows guest. On the Linux host I shared my Dropbox folder ($HOME/Dropbox) that appears now as a new drive in the Windows guest (G:\ in my case). Now, if I modify something under Windows, it will be visible immediately in the Linux file system that the Dropbox client on Linux will notice and sync.

With this I could solve two problems. First, when I boot up the Windows guest, I don’t need to wait for the Dropbox client to sync. Second, if I change something under Windows, it is still synced to the Dropbox cloud, though I have no Dropbox client on Windows anymore.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

