Home > ubuntu > Ubuntu, nvidia, projector, screen cloning, 1024×768 resolution

Ubuntu, nvidia, projector, screen cloning, 1024×768 resolution

Problem
I have a laptop that I use for teaching. It is connected to a projector. Everything was fine until today. The next semester starts next Monday, so today I checked if the laptop still works well with some projectors. Nope. Of course not! I tried three classrooms. One projector was OK, but two others didn’t recognize my laptop (“no connection”).

In order to avoid problems with the nvidia driver, I used to keep an old driver on my machine that worked well. When the packages were updated, I always left out the nvidia packages. But something happened since December… So I decided to upgrade all the Nvidia packages too. By the way, I have Ubuntu 12.04 LTS on this laptop. The result almost made me cry: after the upgrade I couldn’t change the resolution on my laptop anymore. If I want to use a projector in clone mode, switching to resolution 1024×768 is mandatory. Damn!

Solution
This article saved my ass. It explains how to update your Nvidia driver with the newest one directly from Nvidia. The new driver, which came out in January 2014, works well. I can change the resolution and cloning works too. Phew…

Steps
Here I sum up the steps from the aforementioned article:

(1) Download the latest driver for your card from http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx .

(2) Blacklist the nouveau driver. “sudo vi /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf” and add this line to the end:

blacklist nouveau

(3) Switch to the virtual terminal (Ctrl+Alt+F1) and execute these steps:

$ sudo apt-get remove --purge nvidia*
$ sudo service lightdm stop
# locate the downloaded driver and run it
# your version probably will be newer
$ sudo sh ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-295.33.run
$ sudo reboot

If something went wrong and you encounter some problems during the reboot, here is how to revert the changes. Switch to the virtual terminal (Ctrl+Alt+F1) and execute these steps:

$ sudo sh ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-295.33.run --uninstall
$ sudo apt-get install nvidia-current
$ sudo service lightdm restart
  1. November 20, 2014 at 00:28

    I think THE BEST writeup I know of for Nvidia driver support on Ubuntu is the Answer to this post:

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/61396/how-do-i-install-the-nvidia-drivers?rq=1

    Note: In particular this awesome piece of information that I cut & pasted into an email to
    myself just so I’d never lose it.

    Lastly, Ubuntu has a neat way of recommending which driver to use depending on your video card and drivers available (This is why I also recommend adding the PPAs first). Simply type:

    ubuntu-drivers devices

    It should show you a list of driver packages available for your hardware, including but not limited to the video card. If you wish to see which driver is recommended for your video card then simply type the following:

    ubuntu-drivers devices | grep recommended

  2. November 20, 2014 at 00:29

    I think THE BEST writeup I know of for Nvidia driver support on Ubuntu is the Answer to this post:

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/61396/how-do-i-install-the-nvidia-drivers?rq=1

    Note: In particular this awesome piece of information that I cut & pasted into an email to
    myself just so I’d never lose it.

    Lastly, Ubuntu has a neat way of recommending which driver to use depending on your video card and drivers available (This is why I also recommend adding the PPAs first). Simply type:

    ubuntu-drivers devices

    It should show you a list of driver packages available for your hardware, including but not limited to the video card. If you wish to see which driver is recommended for your video card then simply type the following:

    $ ubuntu-drivers devices | grep recommended

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

