Home > bash > The unprintable PDF file

The unprintable PDF file

I’ve been trying to print a PDF file for a week :) We have a network printer here that requires authentication when a print job is sent. Everything seems to be fine but nothing comes out of the printer. First I thought the file was too big, so I tried to send it in two pieces. Nothing. Send it in smaller pieces. Still nothing. Did the admins block me? But I can print other things. What’s going on?

Well, there must have been a problem with the PDF file itself. I could open it, browse it, but for some unknown reason the printer didn’t eat it. Here is the trick that worked for me:

pdftops die.pdf
# produces die.ps
mv die.pdf die.pdf.bak
pstopdf die.ps
# produces a correct die.pdf file

The new PDF file caused no problems.

Categories: bash Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

