Home > ubuntu, windows > Getting an Artec e+ Pro Scanner work

Getting an Artec e+ Pro Scanner work

I have an Artec e+ Pro scanner that I used years ago under Windows XP without any problem. It’s a great scanner, I liked it. I found it a few weeks ago and today I wanted to use it. Well, I was too naive again…

(The exact text I have on its box: Artec e+ Pro Scanner, 1200×2400 dpi, 48 bits true color quality).

The official driver for this model is up to Windows XP. I only have Windows 7 and Linux, so first I tried to use it under Windows 7. On the installation CD there is a SETUP.EXE that I opened in Windows XP compatibility mode. The installation of the driver went smoothly but when I opened the application and clicked on “Scan”, it told me that a Twain driver is missing. I was looking for it everywhere but I didn’t find it. In the forums I read that Artec didn’t make a Windows 7 driver for this model.

OK, it won’t work under Windows 7. Then I thought: “Hey, let’s try it under Linux too!” And you know what? It worked! :) Here is what to do.

There is a scanner howto for Ubuntu (see here). I installed xsane but it dropped me an error message similar to this: “Failed to open device 'artec_eplus48u:libusb:001:003': Invalid argument.” Fortunately there is a page that explains how to configure this particular scanner for xsane (see here).

The page ArtecEplus48uConf explains the configuration of a 48U scanner. However, my scanner must be a variation of this scanner, its official name is “e+ Pro”. But they are very similar. Here is what I did to resurrect my e+ Pro scanner:

  • download the firmware 1200.usb and extract it (you can also copy it from the official CD)
  • copy the file 1200.usb to /etc/sane.d/
  • edit the file artec_eplus48u.conf and modify the part shown below
# This section is for the Artec E+ Pro
# Note, that the name of the firmware file is called 1200.usb for
# this device
usb 0x05d8 0x4004
option artecFirmwareFile /etc/sane.d/1200.usb
option ePlusPro   1
option vendorString "Artec"
option modelString "E+ Pro"

I only had to edit just one line to precise the path of the file 1200.usb.

Now xsane should be able to handle your scanner correctly :)

Update (20120916)

There is a solution to make it work under Windows 7. Install XP Mode, which is a virtual Windows XP inside your Windows 7. In this XP I could install the official CD and I could use the scanner.

When I launched the scanner application, it still said that the Twain driver is missing. But then XP noticed the new hardware and asked for a location from where it could install the driver. After specifying the XP folder on the CD, the Twain driver got installed.

Update (20160216)
I wanted to scan on a new machine. I followed the steps above but xsane didn’t recognize my scanner. I managed to solve the problem but I would like to share my journey that led to the solution :)

First, I tried “sane-find-scanner” that dropped me several Acces denied warnings. Using “sudo sane-find-scanner” found my scanner:

found USB scanner (vendor=0x05d8, product=0x4004, chip=GT-6816) at libusb:001:003

The command “lsusb” also found it:

Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05d8:4004 Ultima Electronics Corp. Artec E+ Pro

In the config file above we had this line for our Artec E+ Pro: “usb 0x05d8 0x4004”, so everything is good so far.

Let’s check out the device file for Bus 001 Device 003:

$ ls -al /dev/bus/usb/001/003
crw-rw-r-- 1 root root 189, 2 Feb 16 16:24 /dev/bus/usb/001/003

At this point I didn’t notice that the group “all” had no write permission…

I also tried to launch xsane with sudo and it worked! Hmm, then there is a permission problem. Let’s figure out what goes wrong:

$ strace xsane 2>&1 | grep EACCES | sort -u
open("/dev/bus/usb/001/001", O_RDWR)    = -1 EACCES (Permission denied)
open("/dev/bus/usb/001/002", O_RDWR)    = -1 EACCES (Permission denied)
open("/dev/bus/usb/001/003", O_RDWR)    = -1 EACCES (Permission denied)

OK, so there is a permission problem with the file “/dev/bus/usb/001/003”. Let’s do this:

$ sudo chmod a+w /dev/bus/usb/001/003
$ ls -al /dev/bus/usb/001/003
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 189, 2 Feb 16 16:24 /dev/bus/usb/001/003

And after this I could use xsane as a normal user! :) Problem solved.

I didn’t figure it out all by myself. I found the solution here.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

