Home > ubuntu > VLC’s sound is crackling

VLC’s sound is crackling

Under Ubuntu, when playing a movie with VLC, I hear some crackling. The audio output is distorted. With mplayer everything works fine.

I found the solution here. This problem is caused by pulseaudio. Start VLC, then go to Tools -> Preferences -> Audio, and change the Output module from the default to ALSA. The distortion went away.

Note that I have Ubuntu on several machines and I had this problem on one machine only.

Categories: ubuntu Tags: , , ,
  1. Chuck Ritola
    June 22, 2012 at 10:27

    I had a very similar issue and somehow simply adjusting my volume by one notch (either direction) cleared up the issue- but this was not overdrive crackling but more of a bitcrush sort of distortion, as if a buffer’s offset wasn’t aligning properly or bits weren’t being processed in the right order. There was also a mysterious echo effect with the crush sound.

  2. November 19, 2012 at 05:52

    I followed you advice above and it got rid of my crackling on ubuntu’s vlc. Thanks very much!

    • November 19, 2012 at 05:54

      Now check out the rest of my blog. It’s full of good advices :D

  3. February 14, 2013 at 15:28

    Thanks for the advice! Haha< love your reply on Eugene.

  4. tndaisy1960
    November 5, 2013 at 00:29

    Thank you! Worked perfectly :)

  5. January 25, 2015 at 23:32

    Had an audio issue. I think it’s because of my old hardware, but this works for me. The issue was: “When I trying to run an video, the sound has a chance to configure the output correctly. But randomly, when I jump forward or backward, The sound has a chance to be activated, if it’s not. And also, the sound has a chance to be deactivated, if it’s running. (chance depending on the quality of the video (higher quality – lower chance to hear sound))”. Thanks, that’s fix my problem.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

