Home > ubuntu > Upgrade Ubuntu 8.04 LTS to 10.04 LTS

Upgrade Ubuntu 8.04 LTS to 10.04 LTS

I just figured out that you can upgrade an Ubuntu LTS to the next Ubuntu LTS release. This means that 8.04 can be upgraded directly to 10.04 for instance. There is no need to upgrade to 8.10, etc.

We have an old machine and I put Ubuntu 8.04 on it a long time ago. Since it reached its end of life in May 2011, I was glad to see that I could upgrade to 10.04 easily.

Troubleshooting
At the very end of the upgrade process I had a little problem: the updating stopped and a warning message notified me that the update process was not completed. It has already happened to me some times. At this point I opened a terminal and executed the good_shape_safe.sh script (use the *_safe.sh version). This script could correct the setup process and put my Ubuntu in a consistent state.

Categories: ubuntu Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

