Home > ubuntu > Terminator: a cross-platform terminal emulator with advanced features

Terminator: a cross-platform terminal emulator with advanced features

Terminator is a cross-platform GPL terminal emulator with advanced features.

I’ve been using konsole for years but I think I will switch to terminator.

Features:

  • Arrange terminals in a grid (see screenshot below)
  • Tabs
  • Highly configurable
  • Drag and drop re-ordering of terminals
  • Lots of keyboard shortcuts (see the keybindings section)
  • Save multiple layouts and profiles via GUI preferences editor

Screenshot:

Installation:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gnome-terminator
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install terminator

My config file:

See my config file here. Its location is $HOME/.config/terminator/config (rename it to “config“).

Links:

Update (20110511)
I was using terminator for a month but today I switched back to konsole. Terminator is not bad but I find some things annoying. I also sent two questions / feature requests to the developers and got no answers, so I don’t know if it’s still developed. Konsole is not that fancy but works just fine.

/ discussion /

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

