Home > Uncategorized > IRC basics

IRC basics

I haven’t used IRC for at least 10 years. Now I had the idea to visit irc.freenode.net, which provides discussion facilities for the Free and Open Source Software communities.

I tried to connect with KVIrc but I was banned immediately :) According to the warning message, my client version had security vulnerabilities and I should upgrade it. But I installed it via apt-get… Unfortunately the Ubuntu repositories are sometimes really outdated. I tried irssi too but it looked very minimalistic. Finally I had success with XChat. I will try irssi again in the future, I’ve read good reviews about it.

Some IRC guides:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

