Home > ubuntu > Get more space on your root partition

Get more space on your root partition

Problem

I ran out of space on my root partition. I removed lots of stuff, but it was just a temporary fix.

Solution

First, run Disk Usage Analyzer (under Applications -> Accessories) to see what occupies much disk space [more info here]. Try to remove the unnecessary things.

As I needed more free space on my root partition, here is what I did:

  • I had a large NTFS partition that I resized with gparted and cut off a 10 GB partition from its end. [more info here]
  • The newly created partition was formatted on ext3 and added to /etc/fstab. [more info here]
  • I ran Disk Usage Analyzer again to see what to move to the new partition. I moved the following directories and just left a symbolic link on the root partition:
    • /usr/share/doc (use cp -pr ... as root to copy the directory with permissions)
    • ~/.cache
    • ~/Dropbox
    • ~/.dropbox
    • ~/.dropbox-dist
    • ~/.dropbox-dist-new
    • ~/dwhelper
    • ~/.mozilla
    • ~/.netbeans
    • ~/.thumbnails
    • ~/.wine
    • etc.
Categories: ubuntu Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

