Home > ubuntu > Downgrade your Nvidia driver

Downgrade your Nvidia driver

Problem
I have an older laptop that I use to watch movies on my TV. It is connected to the TV and I use the TV as a “projector”. The resolution of our HD-ready TV is 1152×864. I also set this resolution on the laptop and the screen was cloned on the TV. It can be set with nvidia-settings easily. Everything worked fine for years when suddenly…

…I clicked on the “Update” button. And it updated the Nvidia driver. And from then on I couldn’t change the resolution. Aaaarrrrrghhhhh!

The nvidia driver offered one resolution only: the highest one, which is 1900×1200. It would be fine for my laptop but I want to clone the screen on the TV which doesn’t support such high resolution. Damn!

Solution
I tried everything. For hours. And finally I found the solution: I managed to downgrade the nvidia driver from 304.88 to 295.33.

nvidia graphics drivers: here

nvidia-settings: here

Note that the version of nvidia-settings must match the version of nvidia graphics driver!

So I downloaded the following files:

nvidia-current_295.33-0ubuntu1_i386.deb
nvidia-current-dev_295.33-0ubuntu1_i386.deb
nvidia-settings_295.33-0ubuntu1_i386.deb

I removed the current nvidia packages and then installed the 3 packages above. Here I suppose that the 3 files above are saved in a folder and you entered that folder.

sudo apt-get purge nvidia-*
sudo dpkg -i *

After restarting the machine it worked fine. On this laptop I will never ever update the nvidia driver, that’s sure as hell.

Links
The downgrade tip is from here.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

