Home > google > Hide “about the new look | send feedback” in Gmail

Hide “about the new look | send feedback” in Gmail

Update #2: Check out this post too for an easier solution.

Update #1: This post is deprecated. That damned widget is not shown anymore.

Problem
I upgraded to the new look of Gmail but since then I always get a notification in the bottom right corner with “about the new look | send feedback”. Closing it doesn’t help, upon a new log in it’s there again.

Solution
Install Adblock Plus and add the following filter:

mail.google.com##div[class="GcwpPb-MEmzyf GcwpPb-bEO5kc"]

Something else
Does anybody know how to list the current filters in the new look? I can’t find it anywhere.

Categories: google Tags: , ,
  1. Jack
    November 4, 2011 at 01:52

    Works for me, thanks!

  2. November 4, 2011 at 16:27

    Great man!

  3. November 4, 2011 at 16:34

    Thanks for the feedbacks.

  4. Roger
    November 4, 2011 at 21:55

    I could not get it to hide using the above recommendation… HELP!

    Edit #1: At first it locked up ABP, and would not let Gamil refresh… So I removed it. I tried it again and it automatically went into ABP’s “My Element Hiding Rules”, and then did nothing (meaning the gmail popup still shows).
    Does this make sense?

    Edit #2: Also…. With the new Gmail browser, when I receive a new email, (and I’m viewing another web page / tab, in Firefox) my screen “flashes” to the Gmail browser tab; I see the new message; then the Gmail page goes to the white page showing that Gmail is downloading a mail to me; then it flashes to my Gmail browser page.

    All that time, I am “off” the page that I was originally viewing. If I am typing a new email, it does the same thing. Very annoying!

    This is MUCH different than it did using the old Gmail browser.

    • November 4, 2011 at 23:05

      Well, it should look like this: screenshot. I use Firefox 7 with the latest Adblock Plus (version 1.3.10).

      If it doesn’t help, then maybe you have a conflict with another add-on. Try to disable all add-ons except Adblock Plus. Restart the browser and see if it works. If it’s OK, enable the add-ons one by one. This way you can find the guilty one.

  5. Roger
    November 4, 2011 at 23:12

    Thanks very much. I’ll try it when I get home later. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Update #1: Very strange… On my desk top, running Windows 7 Ultimate, your solution worked! Thanks very much. On my netbook, running Windows 7 Starter, it did not work… Any thoughts?

    Update #2: BTW… the little black Gmail info bar is now gone, from my desktop, but when I receive an email, it is still doing that “flash” then no matter what I’m doing, the Gmail page pops up with my new email on it (as I mentioned above.).

  6. Alan
    November 9, 2011 at 22:01

    That didn’t work for me. I had a look with firebug and the class id used by the annoying frame is “w-asK w-atd“, so the following specification catches it and works for me:

    mail.google.com##div[class="w-asK w-atd"]
    
    • November 13, 2011 at 12:20

      Mine stopped working suddenly. When I checked the source, the ID changed to this. I added both to the block list.

      Edit: I had to remove the first filter, the images on the buttons didn’t appear. So just keep one of the filters.

  7. November 11, 2011 at 12:54

    thank you very much. it worked for me.

  8. November 12, 2011 at 21:09

    Worked for me. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

