Home > Uncategorized > Moving projects to GitHub

Moving projects to GitHub

A few days ago I decided to learn Git. This is something that I’ve had in my mind for a long time. Also, I will move my projects to GitHub (here is my profile page).

Useful links

Start with:

  • Pro Git book (Free, available in HTML. A very nice introduction.)

Read on:

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Rockin
    March 31, 2011 at 10:10

    You made the good decision !

    I think Git is one of the most powerful tool for versioning.
    It has some features that allow you to commit locally, modify the order of your commits,…
    In addition, GitHub is a great place to centralize all your projects.

    Few days ago, I found some cheat sheets about Git that could interest you:

    http://help.github.com/git-cheat-sheets/

    Rockin.

  2. March 31, 2011 at 12:09

    Thanks! I saw GitHub a few years ago and I’ve heard very good things of it. Since I started this blog, I kept my projects in the public folder of Dropbox, but it’s not an elegant approach :) So I will centralize all my open source stuff on GitHub. The community is also great, social coding is much more fun than coding alone… I was a bit afraid of git but it’s not that complicated and GitHub explains very well how to create a project step-by-step.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

